Home 5 Office of the Director 5 Operations 5 Planning, Preparedness, and Prevention 5 Emergency Management Accreditation Program

Emergency Management Accreditation Program

What is EMAP?

The Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) is an independent non-profit organization that fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs, by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation process. EMAP also provides emergency management programs the opportunity to be recognized for compliance with industry standards and to demonstrate accountability in emergency management. The EMAP Accreditation is a five-year accreditation.

California’s EMAP Accreditation

California retained its national accreditation status from EMAP following a rigorous review that found the program met all 64 required national standards. The week-long review of California’s program was conducted in January 2017.

Cal OES continuously reviews and updates its documentation to current EMAP Standards. Cal OES reaccreditation is scheduled for 2022.


The Emergency Management Standard covers:

  • Program Management, Administration and Finance, and Laws and Authorities
  • Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment, and Consequence Analysis
  • Hazard Mitigation
  • Prevention
  • Operational Planning and Procedures
  • Incident Management
  • ​Resource Management, Mutual Aid, and Logistics
  • Communications and Warning
  • Facilities
  • Training
  • Exercises, Evaluations, and Corrective Action
  • Emergency Public Education and Information

EMAP Contact:
Sydney Schellinger
(916) 845-8779 Office