Emergency Management Credentialing and Certificate Information

The California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services offers professional recognition certificate and credentialing programs for emergency management and allied professionals:

Specialist Certificate Program

The Specialist Certificate Program, initiated in 2008, recognizes individuals who complete a series of core courses and complete at least 72 hours of elective courses or seminars. There are three Specialist Certificates to choose from:

Emergency Management

Required Courses (4):

  • Mitigation for Emergency Managers (G393)
  • Emergency Planning (G235)
  • Recovery from Disasters: The Local Community Role (G205) – Formerly (G270.4)
  • Emergency Management Concepts: All Hazards or Jurisdiction Specific

View the Approved Electives List

Specialist Certificate Documents

Public Information

Required Courses (2):

  • Basic Public Information Officer and Joint Information Center/Joint Information System (G290/291)
  • Advanced Public Information Officer (L0388)

View the Approved Electives List

Specialist Certificate Documents

Emergency Operations Center (EOC) Position Credentialing Program

The EOC Position Credentialing Program identifies measures for competency, and documents professional qualifications, certifications, training, experience, and education requirements that define basic criteria expected of emergency services personnel serving within an emergency operations center. Working with numerous partner agencies at all levels of government within California, the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services developed a comprehensive statewide credentialing program to promote elements of the Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) and flow into the larger effort of the National Incident Management System (NIMS) Guidelines for the credentialing of personnel

EOC Credentialing Documentation

CSTI Training Portal

Visit the CSTI Learning Management System to browse hundreds of training courses, register and learn.